Re: Confused (Which, isn't new :)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Buddha's Village Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Sergio ( on September 30, 2000 at 04:02:21:

In Reply to: Confused (Which, isn't new :) posted by Kat on September 30, 2000 at 01:27:00:

Buddhism believes in 6 main not-enlightened realms: Human’s realm, animal’s realm, paranoid’s beings realm(hells), hungry ghost’s realm, Titan’s realm and Deva’s realm. The last 2 are also known as “Gods” realms (celestial beings), but I don’t like the word “God” to describe them. The word “God” is very related with a Christian God with specific characteristics that Titans and Devas don’t have. The christian God is the creator, he is perfect and eternal. He rules the world and your destiny. He will always be God and he is the only one who can save you.
But for Buddhism, Titans and Devas (Gods) are not the creators, they are not eternal (they will lose that kind of existence and reborn in lower realms), they can’t rule the Universe and they can’t “save you”. They also suffer, even they are the happiest not-enlightened beings.

Hope it be useful.


Follow Ups:

Post a Followup




Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Buddha's Village Forum ] [ FAQ ]